Communication Bill of Rights

Each person has these fundamental communication rights:

  1. The right to interact socially, maintain social closeness, and build relationships
  2. The right to request desired objects, actions, events, and people
  3. The right to refuse or reject undesired objects, actions, events, or choices
  4. The right to express personal preferences and feelings
  5. The right to make choices from meaningful alternatives
  6. The right to make comments and share opinions
  7. The right to ask for and give information, including information about changes in routine and environment
  8. The right to be informed about people and events in one’s life
  9. The right to access interventions and supports that improve communication
  10. The right to have communication acts acknowledged and responded to even when the desired outcome cannot be realized
  11. The right to have access to functioning AAC (augmentative and alternative communication) and other AT (assistive technology) services and devices at all times
  12. The right to access environmental contexts, interactions, and opportunities that promote participation as full communication partners with other people, including peers
  13. The right to be treated with dignity and addressed with respect and courtesy
  14. The right to be addressed directly and not be spoken for or talked about in the third person while present
  15. The right to have clear, meaningful, and culturally and linguistically appropriate communications
Communication Bill of Rights from ASHA
AacAacawarenessSlp resourcesTtmtaacTtmterrific

Leave a comment

All comments are moderated before being published